Day Twenty-One: Recovery, ice cream and bowling

As you may have guessed, I woke up feeling sick as pike. Large quantities of cheap beer seem to have that effect on me. It took me a while to get started, and I had one hell of a lie-in in the camper – it’s not like we had anything planned. I’ve mentioned already how much I loved that camper, and as it turns out, it’s actually pretty comfortable to drive…

…not that I did anything more than sit in the driving seat, as you can see (aside from anything else, it’s covered up and parked.) Still, there’s something wonderful about being able to drive a house, complete with sleeping space for four, a fridge bigger than mine at home, a full size hob and oven, a toilet and shower. Cracking.

Steph’s brother, Brian, gave me something to drink… I’m not sure what it was, but apparently you usually give it to children with diarrhoea to rehydrate them. It seemed to work, and by dinner time I’d perked up enough to leave the house and do things. Not sure what to do with the evening, me and Steph decided to go to the bowling alley, but on the way we made a pit stop at Twist Cone; Twist Cone is a drive-in ice cream shop, and an Aberdeen landmark. I got this:

That’s a soft serve cone, dipped in chocolate, and with eyes. I decided to imitate it, as you can see. It was also the last day of the season, and Twist Cone was closing for winter the next day. I didn’t take this picture, but I think it’s important to show you the place, because it’s beautiful:

We then left and went to the bowling alley and played two games. I won both, through nothing more than dumb luck (that’s not modesty, either.)

And to finish, the final score:

We drove home, spent some time in the hot tub, and went for an early-ish bed.

Leave a comment